As a parent in Florida, it is important to be aware of the car seat rules in Florida. In 2023, a new car seat law will go into effect in the state of Florida.
Florida car seat law requires that all children who are under the age of 5 (Florida car seat age) must be seated in a car seat or booster seat while riding in a motor vehicle.Florida Car Seat Law
We want to ensure that you are prepared for this car seat law-Florida and have all the information you need to ensure your child’s safety.
Read this guide to learn more about the Fl car seat law 2023!
Table of Contents
Florida Infant Car Seat Laws
According to the Florida infant car seat laws, all children under the age of 5 must use a car seat based on their age and size.
The type of car seat that is used will depend on the child’s weight and height.
It is important to follow the manufacturer’s instructions for the installation and use of the car seat in order to ensure the child’s safety.
Florida Rear-facing Car Seat Law
The Florida rear-facing car seat law doesn’t mention an age for rear-facing car seats.
However, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the best car seat is the one that fits your child perfectly.
So, we can refer to the American Academy of Pediatrics, which says car seat manufacturers have designed seats that enable children to stay rear-facing until they weigh at least 40 pounds, which most children can do by their 2nd birthday.
To learn more about rear-facing car seat laws in other cities in the US, you can check out the following links: Michigan Rear-Facing Car Seat Law Oregon Rear-Facing Car Seat Law Virginia Rear-Facing Car Seat Law
Child Booster Seat Laws in Florida
How old for a booster seat in Florida? According to booster seat requirements Fl (Florida), children aged 4-5 years old (booster seat age-Florida) are required to use booster seats.
However, experts say that this is not the best thing for your child’s safety. The child should be in a forward-facing seat instead.
You can learn more about this by reading the manual for any federally approved child seat.
To learn more about Booster seat laws in other US states, you can check out Mississippi, and New Mexico Booster seat laws.
Florida Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
Florida law does not have a forward-facing car seat age in Florida but recommends that children should remain in rear-facing seats until they are 2-4 years old or until they achieve the weight and height requirements of their seat.
Afterward, children should use a forward-facing seat with a five-point harness system until they have enough weight and height to use a seat belt.
For additional information on forward-facing car seat laws in other US states, consider exploring the regulations in Delaware, and Massachusetts to better understand the varying requirements across the country.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Florida?
According to front-facing car seat law in Florida DMV recommends that children stay in the rear seats of a vehicle until they are as per front-facing car seat age Florida i-e. 12 years old.
This is because front seat airbags can be dangerous to children, and can cause serious injuries in the event of an accident.
However, there may be some exceptions depending on the child’s age and size.
Parents should consult their car’s owner’s manual or speak with a DMV representative to get accurate information about their specific vehicle.
To learn more about front seat laws in other cities in the US, you can check out the following links: Indiana Front Seat Law Tennessee Front Seat Law
Leaving Child in Car Law in Florida
In Florida, it is illegal to leave a child alone in a car for more than 15 minutes.
If the engine is off, you can’t leave your child unattended for any amount of time.
This law is in place to protect children from being left in cars and becoming injured or worse.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Florida?
There is no law that would stop you from smoking in a car while driving children.
BUT I suggest not smoking in the car when there are kids around because secondhand smoke can cause disease.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Florida
As per Taxi Car Seat Law in Florida, parents are responsible for ensuring their children are properly restrained while in a taxi.
While taxi drivers are not required to provide child restraints, it is strongly recommended that parents use one if available.
If a restraint is not available, the best option is to have your child sit in the backseat and buckle them in using the seatbelt.
As per taxi car seat law in Florida:
The taxi car seat law in Florida does not require child restraints for taxi drivers or their passengers. This exemption applies to chauffeured taxis, limousines, and other passenger vehicles hired for compensation.
Florida Car Seat Law – Replacement After Accident
There is currently no car seat law in place in Florida that requires car seats to be replaced after a crash, but you can always follow the recommendations from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration that says:
“Car seats that have been in a crash should be replaced immediately.”
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommends that car seats be replaced after any accident, even if the seat appears to be undamaged.
Florida Car Seat Laws for 7 Year Old
The Florida car seat law for 7 year old states that all children between the ages of 6 and 17 must wear a seatbelt while in a car. Failing to do so can result in a ticket and fine.
The law also states that all children are required to be properly buckled up in the back seat with either a lap belt or shoulder harness.
Failure to comply with these laws can result in fines as well as possible injury or death.
Parents are responsible for making sure their children comply with car seat laws and it is important to ensure that the appropriate safety measures are taken before getting on the road.
Florida Car Seat Laws Uber
In Florida, car seat laws for Uber drivers are a bit more relaxed. Drivers are not required to provide car seats for children, but parents are still required to abide by the Florida car seat laws.
However, Uber does offer car seats for children for an additional $10.00 on top of the standard fare. This service is available from the Orlando airport and is suitable for children between the ages of two and six.
Are built-in car seats legal
Are built-in car seats legal? This is a question that does not have a straightforward answer.
No federal law says that a vehicle with built-in car seats is illegal, but they are not as safe as using a separate car seat.
This is because a separate car seat can be adjusted to fit the child perfectly, while a built-in car seat may not be able to do so.
Additionally, a separate car seat can be moved to different cars if needed, while a built-in car seat will likely be fixed in place.
Therefore, it is important to always research the safety ratings of any type of car seat before purchasing one.
Florida seat belt laws
Florida seat belt laws say that all drivers and passengers must wear a seat belt in all vehicles.
There are a few exceptions to this rule, such as for people who have a medical condition that makes seat belt use unsafe or inappropriate.
Regardless of the exception, drivers and passengers in Florida are required to wear safety belts whenever they are in a vehicle.
This is an important safety measure that can help protect people in the event of a crash.
How much is a seatbelt ticket in florida 2022
In Florida, if you are not wearing a seat belt, you will have to pay $30. If you have a child 5 or younger, the fine is $60. So, make sure to wear your seat belt whenever you are in a vehicle, as it is an important safety measure.
Do All States Have Child Safety Seat Laws
All 50 states in the United States have child safety seat laws, though the specifics of those laws vary from state to state.
In general, however, these laws require children to be restrained in a child safety seat while traveling in a motor vehicle.
There are exceptions to this rule, of course. For example, children who are riding in a taxi or other type of hired car are not required to use a child safety seat.
And children who are traveling in an emergency vehicle such as an ambulance or fire truck are also exempt from the law.
We have made complete guides on each of the 50 states’ child safety seat laws. If you’re interested in learning more about the specific requirements in your state, please check out the table below:
Car Seat Law in Different US States
|California Car Seat law||New York Car Seat Law||Illinois Car Seat Law|
|Texas Car Seat Law||Ohio Car Seat Law||Georgia Car Seat Law|
Places to Get Car Seat Help in Florida
- Florida Car Seat Fitting Stations by County
- Johns Hopkins – Car Seat Program
- Safe Kids Florida Directory
- City of Palm Coast Car Seat Installation
- Seminole County Car Seat Inspection Stations
- Winter Park Police Department Child Car Seat Inspections
- City of Winter Garden Car Seat Inspection
- Apopka Fire Department Car Seat Installation & Safety Checks
- Clermont Child Passenger Safety
- The Lake Mary Police Department Car Seat Program/Installations
- Tamarac Child Safety Seats
- Coral Springs Fire Department Car Seat Check
- Palm Beach County Car Seat Installation
- North Miami Beach Child Restraint Requirements/Installation
- Boynton Beach Car Seat Installation
- Boca Raton Car Seat Safety Program
- City of Margate Car Seat Installation
- Alachua County Car Seat Safety Program
FAQs: Florida Car Seat Law
Does my 8 year old need a booster seat in Florida?
Yes, your 8 year old needs a booster seat in Florida. Children aged 6 to 8 years old must stay in the rear of the car and always use a seat belt.
According to Florida car seat law, all children aged 4 – 5 years old must use a car seat or booster seat.
What happens if a child is not in a car seat in Florida?
If you do not follow Florida car seat law and put your child in a car seat, you can get a $60.00 fine and three points on your driver’s license.
But that’s not the only punishment you could get. There are other bad things that can happen, like your child getting hurt.
Can a child ride in a taxi without a car seat in Florida?
In Florida, taxi drivers do not have to follow child passenger laws. It is the responsibility of the parents to keep their children safe. This can be done by using a proper safety system when travelling in a taxi.
The Bottom Line
As a parent, it’s important to know the Florida car seat laws. The good news is that there are a lot of laws in place to protect your child while riding in a car. The bad news is that the laws can be confusing.
That’s why we’ve put together this comprehensive guide on everything you need to know about Florida car seat law.
From rear-facing seats to booster seats and taxi car seats, we’ve got you covered.
Make sure you bookmark this page and refer back to it as needed. And if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to reach out to us – we’re happy to help!