As a parent in the state of Georgia, it is your responsibility to know and understand the Georgia car seat law.
Here’s what you need to know about the new law and how to make sure your child is safe while travelling in your vehicle.
Georgia’s child car seat laws are among the most stringent in the nation. Children aged 8 years old or younger must be in an appropriate car seat or booster seat for their age and height.
In this guide, we’ll take a look at Georgia’s child car seat laws in more detail.
We’ll discuss Georgia infant, rear-facing, and forward-facing car seat law, and explain what you need to do to make sure your child is safe while travelling.
Table of Contents
Georgia Infant Car Seat Law
When it comes to the safety of your child, you want to make sure that they are as protected as possible while in a car. That’s why it’s important to know about Georgia’s infant car seat law.
According to Georgia law, all children aged 8 and under must be restrained in some form while in a car.
This can include using a car seat, booster seat, or even a seat belt. The type of restraint will depend on the child’s age and size.
Many experts recommend that infants ride in rear-facing car seats until they are at least 2 years old. This is because it provides more protection in the event of a crash.
For parents in Georgia, it is important to know that child car seats are required until the child reaches 8 years old or reaches 4 feet 9 inches in height.
Georgia Rear-facing Car Seat Law
When it comes to Georgia rear-facing car seat law, it is important to keep your children in a child car seat that is appropriate as per their age.
For those children who are younger than three years old, it is best to keep your children in a rear-facing car seat.
This will help to keep them safe and secure during travel. Be sure to follow the manufacturer’s guidelines for the upper limits of seats for rear-facing seats, as this will help ensure your child’s safety.
To learn more about rear-facing car seat laws in other cities in the US, you can check out the following links: Florida Rear-Facing Car Seat Law Oregon Rear-Facing Car Seat Law
Georgia Forward-facing Car Seat Law
As long as your child weighs more than 21 pounds and is one year old, they can sit in a front-facing car seat according to Georgia’s forward-facing car seat law.
Regarding car seats in Georgia, children must stay in a rear-facing seat till they reach the upper limit of the seat set by the manufacturer.
Children who have reached their rear-facing car seat limits can move to a forward-facing seat, as long as they are within that seat’s weight and height limits.
To learn more about forward-facing car seat laws in other cities in the US, you can check out the following links: New York Forward-Facing Car Seat Law Michigan Forward-Facing Car Seat Law Virginia Forward-Facing Car Seat Law
Georgia booster seat laws 2022
When it comes to booster seats, Georgia booster seat laws 2023 says in 40-6-76 (Georgia Code) that all children under the age of eight, as well as those who are less than 4’9″ (57 inches) in height, use a booster seat when travelling in a motor vehicle.
This is to ensure that they are as safe as possible when travelling on the roads.
To learn more about Booster seat laws in other US states, you can check out Mississippi, Illinois and New Mexico Booster seat laws.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Georgia?
There is no definitive answer to this question in Georgia front seat law as it depends on a variety of factors such as the child’s weight and age.
Generally speaking, a child under the age of 8 or having weight of 40 pounds should only sit in the front seat if there is no other safe place for them to sit in the back, or if all the other seats in the back are taken.
To learn more about front seat laws in other cities in the US, you can check out the following links: Indiana Front Seat Law Texas Front Seat Law Tennessee Front Seat Law
Leaving Child in Car Law in Georgia
Leaving a child unattended in a car can lead to serious consequences in Georgia. Under the Georgia car seat law, a child alone in a vehicle can be prosecuted as if the adult were driving recklessly.
This means that the parent or guardian could face fines and even jail time. There is no specific statute regulating when a child can or can’t be left alone in a vehicle, but it is considered a misdemeanor to do so.
To gain a broader perspective on laws regarding leaving children unattended in vehicles, explore the regulations in states such as California, Delaware, and Massachusetts. Familiarizing yourself with the various statutes across the country will help you better understand the legal implications of this important safety issue.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Georgia?
It is now illegal to smoke in a car with someone who is 15 years old or younger in the state of Georgia under a bill(SB 130).
If you are caught smoking in a car with someone who is 15 years old or younger, you will be fined $100. Smoking is not allowed in any car used to transport children while the home is open.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Georgia
The taxi car seat law in Georgia requires that all passengers who are 18 years of age or older must be properly restrained, regardless of seating position.
However, taxis are exempt from this law and are not required to provide car seats for their passengers.
Georgia Car Seat Law – Replacement After Accident
When a car seat is involved in a moderate or severe accident, it should be replaced according to Georgia car seat law.
There are no specific laws regarding when a car seat needs to be replaced, but generally speaking, if an accident is serious enough to cause damage to the car seat, it needs to be replaced.
In order to have the cost of a new car seat covered by insurance, you will need a copy of the accident report.
Upcoming Changes To Georgia Car Seat Law
There is not current update since 2011, specifying when a child must transition from a car seat to a booster seat. The current law requires children to use a car seat or restraining system until they are 8 years old.
Georgia Seat Belt Law
The Georgia seat belt law in the official code of Georgia (O.C.G.A.) § 40-8-76.1 requires all passengers between the ages of eight and 17 to wear a seat belt.
This law is in place to ensure the safety of all passengers in the event of a car accident. The law requires all drivers and passengers in the front seat to wear a seat belt, and it is punishable by a fine if violated.
FAQs: Georgia Car Seat Law
What age can a kid sit in the front seat in Georgia?
The age at which a kid can sit in the back seat in Georgia is 8 years old. However, Georgia car seat law recommends that children be 12 or older should ride in the back seat when possible.
What age do kids not need a car seat in Georgia?
In Georgia code (40-6-76), children under the age of 8 must ride in an approved child restraint system.
This is defined by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208, which states that the restraint must be able to protect the child from head to feet.
There are many different types of child restraints available on the market, so consult your vehicle’s owner’s manual or speak with a certified car seat technician to find the best option for your child.
What are the age and weight requirements for booster seats in Georgia?
Booster seats are required for children 4 to 8 years old, and who weigh at least 40 pounds.
The Bottom Line
This guide provides everything you need to know about the Georgia Car Seat Law changes.
This law will require children under 8 years old to be seated in a car seat or booster seat, depending on their weight and height.
Children between 8 and 16 years old must wear a seat belt at all times when riding in a vehicle.
There are some exceptions to these rules, such as when a child is travelling in a taxi or other licensed transportation service.
I hope you found this guide helpful. Remember that it is very important to follow the Georgia car seat law for the safety of your children.
If you have any questions, please consult an attorney or visit the Georgia Department of Public Safety website.